All voting stations active for MDP internal elections

Candidates for MDP Chairperson MP Imthiyaz Fahmy and Minister Fayyaz Ismail | Photo: Adhadhu

Malé, Maldives – Ruling party MDP has commenced its internal elections today with all elections stations active according to the party officials.

The landmark elections come at a time when the political party is split into two factions between two Presidents; former President and incumbent Speaker of the Parliament Mohamed Nasheed and incumbent President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih.

Political pundits state that the winner of the Chairperson seat will be a significant indication of the route the party will take for the 2023 Presidential election.

Both the candidates, cabinet Minister Fayyaz Ismail and Parliamentarian Imthiyaz Fahmy, have cast their ballots earlier this morning followed by President Solih and Speaker Nasheed.

MP Imthiyaz has urged MDP members to come out and vote and assured that the internal election will not fracture the party while President Solih has expressed similar sentiments.

MP Imthiyaz is an avid supporter of the Speaker Nasheed while Minister Fayyaz is a vocal supporter of President Solih.

While the spotlight is on the Chairperson position, other positions will also be filled with the election held today including the leaders of the women and youth sections.

A total of 272 ballot boxes have been placed in 194 islands for the MDP internal elections.