Parliament backs Fuad for Elections Commission

President of Elections Commission Fuad Tawfeeq.

The people’s Majilis backs former president of the Elections Commission as the newest member for the commission.

A new member is to be appointed for the commission due to the end of tenure for the current vice, Mr. Amjad Mustafa.

A sum of 10 applied for the post but the parliament voted in for Mr. Fuad Taufeeq, whose name was sent by the President, Ibu Solih. President sent other three names to vote in too.

However, Fuad was appointed by getting the most votes, 70 out of the 87 member parliament.

Fuad ran as an independent candidate for Machangolhi South consituency in the Parliament Elections back in April which he lost to Ahmed Khaitham of MDP.