President appoints 4 members to NIC

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih and the newly appointed members of NIC | Photo: Presidency Maldives

Male’, Maldives – The four members who were chosen by the Maldivian Parliament from the list of individuals sent by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih have been appointed to the National Integrity Commission (NIC).

The four members appointed are;

  • Gasim Abdul Kareem (MMPRC whistleblower)
  • Aminath Shadhiya
  • Aminath Shiuna
  • Shuaib Abdul Rahman

A ceremony was held earlier today in The President’s Office in which the members appointed to the National Integrity Commission (NIC) were presented the letter of appointment. 

The Committee on Independent Institutions decided to appoint Gasim Abdul Kareem, Aminath Shadhiya, Aminath Shiuna, and Shuaib Abdul Rahman to the commission, with both Shadhiya and Shiuna having have received 50 votes from the members and while Shuaib and Gasim received 51 votes.

Four spots became vacant for NIC after the President of the Commission, Ahmed Sulaiman was dismissed, following which, the Vice President of NIC, Hassaan Hameed along with members Ahmed Ameen and Khadheeja Abdulla also resigned. NIC comprises of five members and currently consists of recently appointed members, and Colonel (Retired) Ahmed Jihad alone.

Gasim formerly served as the manager of BML’s Nilandhoo branch, during which time, he exposed suspicious transactions made by SoF Pvt Ltd., which ultimately led to the unveiling of the Maldives Marketing and Public Relations Company (MMPRC) grand corruption scandal.

He was arrested and charged under Article 232 (Unlawful Acquisition of Information) and Section 233 (Unlawful Disclosure of Information) of the Penal Code. He was proven guilty and was jailed for 8 months and 12 days, but was then released on 17th of November 2016.