5 people appointed for Police Appeal Committee

Home Minister Imran Abdulla and Commissioner of Police Mohamed Hameed | Photo: Police

Malé, Maldives – Minister of Home Affairs, Sheik Imran Abdulla has appointed five people for the Police Appeal Committee.

According to the new Police Service Act which was ratified by the president on December 27, 2020 and implementation of which began three months after the ratification on March 26, 2021, a Police Appeal Committee had t be formed within 30 days from the date of implementation of the Act.

According to the Police Service Act, the appeal committee had to be formed under the advice of the Police Board and no active police officer could serve on this board.

Police Appeal Committee compromises of Former Deputy Commissioner of Police, Abdulla Sodiq (Dhaftharu 6613, Malé), Azmeen Rasheed (Chanbeyleege, GDh. Rathafandhoo), Fathimath Leena (M. Saljamge, Malé), Minna Nafiz (M. Lillys, Malé) and Ahmed Shahid (Bless, HA. Hoarafushi).

If any action against a police officer is taken by the police disciplinary board, the case must be appealed to the Police Appeal Committee within 10 days. If the committee finds anything which should be changed or corrected, the matter would be sent to the Police Board.

The Police Board was constituted by the President of Maldives, Ibrahim Mohamed Solih on April 9th, as per section 75(a) of the recently enacted Police Service Act (Law No. 34/2020).

The members of the Police Board were earlier appointed according to the new Police Law which states that two members of the Police Board has been appointed by the President, three members appointed based on education experience and the remaining two members are from the public.

The members appointed to the Police Board are:

1. Ahmed Fayaz Hassan (M. Hazaaree Villa, Male’) 
2. Aishath Noora Mohamed (H. Noomuthee, Male’)
3. Ali Faiz (M. Manaage, Male’)
4. Ahmed Nashid (Ma. Golden Moon, Male’)
5. Adam Ibrahim (G. Dimlight, Male’)
6. Hamid Abdul Ghafoor (H. Shadycorner, Male’)
7. Safa Shareef (Dhethadimaage, S. Hulhudhoo)

The new President of the Police Board, Faiz had served as Chief of Protocol at the President’s Office back in 2012, during former President Mohamed Nasheed’s administration and was also the Managing Director of Maldives Inland Fisheries Company (MIFCO).

Meanwhile, the Home Ministry revealed that Ahmed Fayaz Hassan has been elected as the Vice President of the Police Board today. Fayaz was the former Vice Chairman of Elections Commission. 

Regarding the Police Board, the Police Commissioner of Maldives, Mohamed Hameed has earlier stated that establishing the Police Board is one of the biggest improvement brought to the development of the Police Service and that it was established on the request of the members in the Police Executive Management.

The approval of the Police Board is required to appoint Police members to higher ranks apart from the Police Commissioner and the Deputy Police Commissioners position. However, the Police Board will not have monitor and have a say in the regular activities of the Police.