WDC elections commence in 6 islands

Maldives election commission officials prepare ballot papers for counting votes at Elections 2018 | Photo: Ras

Malé, Maldives – Elections Commission on Saturday, informs that local elections of the Women’s Development Committee (WDC), has commenced in 6 islands of Maldives.

The islands are;

  • Malé
  • HDh. Nolhivaram
  • N. Kendhikulhudhoo
  • N. Magudhoo
  • AA. Feridhoo
  • K. Dhihfushi

Elections Commission informs that the elections which started at 08:00 this morning, will continue until 15:00 today.

Elections Commission of Maldives previously opened online voter re-registration for Women’s Development Committee by-elections in five electoral districts in the Maldives.

While this is the first time Elections Commission has allowed online voter re-registration, Fuad informed that the Elections Commission is working on facilitating online registration in all the major elections that will be held in the Maldives in the near future.

In April 2021, post LCE and WDC elections, the Elections Commission decided to hold a re-vote for 10 seats to break tied results from the Local Council Election and Women’s Development Committee (WDC) election that was held on April 10.

Out of the 10 results which are tied, 4 are from Local Council Election and 6 are from WDC. The 4 local council positions are from HA. Thakandhoo, F. Dharaboondhoo, M. Raihmandhoo, and B. Kihaadhoo.

A total of 3,814 candidates had participated in the Local Council and WDC elections. 2,234 participated in the Local Council Election, while 1,580 participated in the WDC election.