Nasheed’s party ‘The Democrats’ has filed for formation

MP Hassan Latheef handing over the documents to form ‘The Democrats’ party. | Photo: Twitter

The “Fikurehge dhirun” faction led by the Speaker of Parliament, former President Mohammed Nasheed, has submitted its forms to the Election Commission (EC) today to form a new political party called ‘The Democrats’.

The form was submitted to the commission on behalf of “Fikurehge dhirun” by Henveiru West MP Hassan Latheef. Ismail Habeeb, Vice-President of the EC, received the form on behalf of the EC.

The Democrats have proposed to form a new party and have decided to nominate a candidate for the September presidential election.

Speaking to reporters after submitting the application to the EC for permission to form The Democrats, Hassan said he would soon also apply for registration of the party with 3,000 member signatures.

Apart from Nasheed, members of the MDP belonging to the “Fikurehge dhirun” left MDP last Wednesday, following which they also announced that they had decided to form a new party. There are 12 MPs who represent the party in the Parliament. In addition to the 12 MPs, Nasheed’s faction member Ali Azim was also expelled from the MDP last week.

Twelve members of the Nasheed faction decided to leave the MDP last week after the party’s action committee decided to expel Ali Azim from the party.

Azim was taken to task for his involvement in the opposition’s efforts to file a no-confidence motion against MDP-affiliated Attorney General Ibrahim Rifath. Azim has signed the resolution which has been introduced in parliament.

Although Nasheed’s supporters are leaving the party, Nasheed remained in the party. Nasheed has not yet announced his reason for staying in the party.