Despite changes to the law, the candidates’ number draw date will not change: Elections

Members of the Elections Commission of Maldives. | Photo: Elections

The Election Commission (EC) has said that the date of draw to arrange the names of candidates will remain unchanged despite the amendment to the law to extend the deadline for submission of nominations.

The Fourth Amendment to the Election Act, passed by the 13th Session of the Second Session of the Parliament, was approved by the President on June 22, 2023.

Section 5(d) of the Act previously provided for 10 days for applicants to submit their applications. However, with the amendment, the period has been extended to 14 days.

In response, the commission’s vice-president, Ismail Habeeb, said the important dates on the elections were set with the changes to the law in mind. Therefore, applications will be accepted from July 23 to August 7, he said.

“The draw will be held, with thirty days to campaign, on Wednesday, August 9,” Habeeb tweeted.

The Election Commission (EC) today announced that the nomination for the presidential election will be opened on July 23 and candidates will have 14 days to submit their nominations.

Commission Vice-President Ismail Habib tweeted that the applications of candidates contesting the September 9 presidential election will be accepted from July 23 to August 7.

The voters list has now been released as per the schedule set by the Election Commission. More than 283,000 people are eligible to vote in the election.

The candidacy for this years elections has so far been announced by the MDP candidate, President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih’s, PPM candidate, former President Abdullah Yameen, JP leader, Qasim Ibrahim and MNP presidential candidate, Mohammed Nazim.

Yameen has been handed the ticket as the candidate of the largest opposition party but his appeal against his jail sentence is pending in the High Court. His eligibility to contest will be confirmed after the appeal.

The newly formed Democrats will nominate a candidate.

In addition to these parties, some individuals have also announced their intention to contest the election. They include former Home Minister Umar Naseer and former Attorney General Dr. Mohammed Munawwar.