Motion to dismiss ACC members voted out at committee stage

MP of Addu Meedhoo Constituency Rozeyna Adam | Photo: adduLIVE

Male’, Maldives – Motion to dismiss members of Anti Corruption Comission (ACC) has been voted out at the committee stage.

The motion to dismiss members of ACC was presented to the Committee on Independent Commissions of the Parliament by MP of Inguraidhoo Constituency, Hassan Ahmed and was supported by MP of South Galolhu Constituency, Meekaail Naseem. As only two members voted in support of the motion, the proposal was not approved by the committee.

In addition to the motion to dismiss ACC members, another proposal to summon individual members of ACC to the committee in order to clarify the problems within the commission was also presented to the committee. The motion presented by MP of South Henveyru Constituency Hussain Shaheem was approved as 6 members voted in favour of the motion.

Upon approval of the motion to summon individual ACC members, MP of Addu Meedhoo Constituency, Rozeina Adam addressed the committee and said that the work for summoning ACC members will be scheduled accordingly.

ACC was questioned by MDP members in the last as well since ACC is investigating minor cases whereas there are major cases of corruption such as that of MMPRC pending. MMPRC said clarifying the concerns of MDP members of Parliament regarding the MMPRC corruption that the case is linked to many other committees of the state and hence ACC alone cannot finalise a date for when the investigation of the case will finish.