President Solih constitutes the Police Board

President attends the ceremony held to commemorate the 86th Anniversary of Maldives Police Service | Photo: Presidenct's Office

Male’, Maldives —The President of Maldives, Ibrahim Mohamed Solih has constituted the Police Board, as per section 75(a) of the recently enacted Police Service Act (Law No. 34/2020).

According to the new Police Law, two members of the Police Board has been appointed by the President, three members appointed based on education experience and the remaining two members are from the public.

The members appointed to the Police Board are:

1. Ahmed Fayaz Hassan
2. Aishath Noora Mohamed
3. Ali Faiz
4. Ahmed Nashid
5. Adam Ibrahim
6. Hamid Abdul Ghafoor
7. Uza Safa Shareef

The Opposition parties has raised concerns over the members the People’s Parliament has taken over the Police Board by saying that while one of the members in the board is a lawyer of the Speaker of Parliament, Mohamed Nasheed and the other is a former Secretary General of the ruling MDP party. The Opposition parties also say that its one of the member in the Police Board is a relative of the President.

Regarding the Police Board, the Police Commissioner of Maldives, Mohamed Hameed has earlier stated that establishing the Police Board is one of the biggest improvement brought to the development of the Police Service and that it was established on the request of the members in the Police Executive Management.

From today on wards, the approval of the Police Board is required to appoint Police members to higher ranks apart from the Police Commissioner and the Deputy Police Commissioners position. However, the Police Board will not have monitor and have a say in the regular activities of the Police.