BREAKING: MDP’s Rashid wins Komandoo Constituency By-Election!

MP-Elect Komandoo Constituency Mohamed Rashid | Photo: Social media

Malé, Maldives – The unofficial results of the Komandoo by-election held today show that MDP representative Mohamed Rashid (Rado) has won the election by more then 200 votes.

I thank all the beloved residents of the Komandoo constituency who worked to get me elected. I sincerely thank all my well wishers from all over Maldives to help me win this election.

MP elect Mohamed Rashid (MDP)

The unofficial results show that Mohamed Rashid of MDP has won the election with 1,118 votes while opposition PPM candidate Moosa Fathuhy trailed behind with 918 votes. Recently formed MNP’s Abdul Hannan Idris received 232 votes.

In the most recent election for the Komandoo constituency, senior member of MDP, the late Hussain Waheed won the seat by a landslide.

This by-election was scheduled following the passing of the former Komandoo MP Hussain Waheed.