Only 27% members voted in MDP elections

Preliminary reports show that only 27% of MDP members voted in the elections held yesterday to determine the President and Vice President of the party.

According the to the results of the 172 ballot boxes of this election, only 23،613 members have voted whereas it was revealed that more than 80,000 people are eligible to vote.

So far, the results show that 23،396 voted for Former President and current Speaker of the Parliament, Mohamed Nasheed to be the president of the Party, securing the position for him. Interestingly, he was the only candidate contesting for the position as well.

While two members, Minister of the President’s Office, Mohamed Shifaz and MP of Hithadhoo Uthuru Constituency, Mohamed Aslam ran for the position of VP of the party, so far the results show that Shifaz has secured the seat with 13،233 while Aslam fell short with 9957 votes.

The elections went on from 14:00 to 19:00 on Friday.