Parliament approves all five ACC members nominated by President

The Parliament of the Maldives | Photo: Majlis

Malé, Maldives – The Parliament of Maldives voted unanimously to approve the nominees presented by President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih for the Anti Corruption Commission (ACC).

President Ibrahim Mohamed Solih nominated five candidates to be appointed as members of the ACC. The candidates are,

  1. Adam Shamil, Raiviyaage, Th. Vilufushi
  2. Abdul Salam, Hawa, Sh. Narudhoo
  3. Thoha Mohamed, Kalhihaaruge, ADh. Maamigili
  4. Shazna Hashim, Rihivilu, HDh. Nolhivaramfaru
  5. Shiyama Mohamed, Nares, R. Hulhudhuffaaru

The Parliament Committee on Independent Institutions interviewed the nominees last week and presented the report to the parliament today. The Chair of the Independent Institutions Committee Rozaina Adam stated that the candidates fulfil the requirements and have scored satisfactory marks during the interviews.

ACC members resigned on 2 December 2021 and 27 December 2021 amid pressures from the parliament leaving a void in accountability for corruption.

The Anti-Corruption Commission Act 13/2008 (ACC Act) dictates that the President of Maldive must appoint a new member within 60 days of resignation by a previous member.